Writing Challenge: Character’s Job

It’s time to write again! This one is fairly straightforward.

CHALLENGE: Write about how a character makes a living.

Disclaimer:

The example I wrote isn’t great. I can’t peg down what I don’t like about it, but I don’t like it. That’s part of writing. Not everything you come up with is going to be gold (or even silver or bronze). A lot of times your writing may not even place. It may be so bad that you tie a brick to your writing and throw it in a river. But here is some advice from the great and wonderful Stephen King: ” I’m convinced that fear is at the root of most bad writing. If one is writing for one’s own pleasure, that fear may be mild… All I ask is that you do as well as you can.”

My example:

Tom always introduced himself as a pianist, even though he only played at the jazz club every other Thursday. In reality he had spent the past five years working as a part-time shelf-stocker for Walmart. Management continually offered him full-time hours, but he rejected the offer on the grounds that he needed to focus on his music. Tom would often confess, “I’m still looking for my sound.” And at parties he would explain, “It’s a mix between Mozart and Miles Davis. I call it Post-Post Neo-Classical.” When he played for friends, they would say it was great and they enjoyed it. Curiously enough they never purchased his album, nor did they go to his shows.

Leave a Reply

